“The Bachelorette” Explained By An Old Fashioned Girl

Andi, Kaitlyn, JoJo, Emily, Ashley, the list goes on. I recently decided to watch an episode of The Bachelorette because it was filmed at Nemacolin Woodlands Resort. Nemacolin is a place I have heard lots about in the past year. Last summer my sister landed her first big girl adult job at Nemacolin Woodlands.

Shout out to the big sis, you’re doing great champ keep the good work up.

Anyways, I have never been to Nemacolin Woodlands because it’s a luxury resort and college students usually cannot afford those kind of rates to stay in a place like that! I had heard of this luxury resort but never had I seen it. So I decided to flip on the TV and watch the one singular episode of The Bachelorette. Never have I ever watched such a show like this that really made me think a lot about relationships and how wrong this show was.

The-Bachelorette-Logo

If you don’t know what this show is here’s a briefing on it. The show is based on one woman who wants to find her true love. There are 25 men that are chosen to be contestants on the show to fight for the one spot in the woman’s heart. The filming for this show lasts approximately a month? Two months? Put it this way, from what I have found out, JoJo was picked for the part and then filming started a week later in March. The show premiered on May 23rd. So you expect love to happen that quickly? Please try to explain that concept to me. Let me give you some other reasons why I disagree with this show.

1. Love Doesn’t Exist

Love isn’t even that problem that I have with the show. It can’t be a problem if it doesn’t exist. You simply cannot love someone when there are cameras surrounding you along with 24 other men around. As a female, how do you feel okay being put on a glorified game show for men to fight over you. Those men got chosen by ABC to win your “love”. It’s all too fake and scripted.

2. Get Your Hands Off

What I have a problem with is how touchy feely these guys are with the girl. How can you feel good about yourself when you are fighting over a girl who 24 other men are also fighting for. Literally though, Chad was willing to punch a couple of people. I guess I just have too much self-respect to be okay with all of those guys all over me. One guy leaves after holding hands and being all over the girl and then the next guy comes over and does the same thing.

3. NCMO

If you don’t know what a NCMO is, let me explain. A NCMO is a Non Committal Make Out. No commitments just kissing random people. Essentially that’s what is happening on this show. 25 guys swapping saliva with the same girl. One’s guys trash is another guy’s treas- nope sorry still trash. Maybe not straight up trash but just someone who is desperate and has low self-respect.

I guess the point that I am trying to get across is, the reason I don’t agree with this show is because I have morals. Morals that are so beyond opposite of what The Bachelorette portrays. I believe that jumping into a relationship isn’t a good idea. That lesson was learned a year ago and I regret it. I believe that you should know the person for a while and be friends with them before jumping into a relationship with them. I’m not property to you, I am my own self so don’t try to be overbearing of me. I don’t believe in kissing on the first date. I believe that a relationship shouldn’t be based around sex. I believe that if two people really value their relationship then sex can wait. My friends and family have to like the guy no matter what. A guy has to respect that fact that horses are a major part of my life so they come first.

I am an independent girl who really doesn’t need a relationship. I am fine living my own life not having to tell someone what I am doing or where I am going. Jealousy is not okay with me. I have nothing to hide so jealousy is a no go for me. I have other guy friends…so a guy will have to deal with it. Like I said, I am 100% independent right now and I am fully content on staying that way if I have to be.

Call me old-fashioned but I have too much self-respect to jump into things. I believe in chivalry and always will. My definition of chivalry is being a gentleman that holds a door for people no questions asked, knows how to say thank you without even thinking about having to say it, or respects his elders. Just simple things.

“I like being a strong, independent woman, and to be honest, I was never afraid to be on my own” -Dido Armstrong

 

Leave a Reply

