Welcome to Colonial Country

Hello everyone!

I understand that I have not been very active since July but it turns out I have been very extremely busy. So busy to the point that I thought I was going insane! As many of you know I am a sophomore at Robert Morris University studying Communications with a concentration in Advertising and a minor in Public Relations.

IMG_0293.JPG

Truth be told, I still don’t know what I want to do for the rest of my life. There are so many options out there and I want to experience everything life has to offer. Okay maybe everything except skydiving and swimming with sharks.

Anyways, back to the topic of college. I have had anything but an easy semester. Every semester is a different story and every semester I watch my GPA drop…and drop…and drop some more. No I wasn’t partying and no I wasn’t skipping classes. I have never purposely skipped a class before and don’t plan to start skipping either. My grades have dropped form the occurrence of certain events outside of classes.

Let’s start with my freshman year at RMU. I was only 18 years old and I was moving to a new place and living with someone for the first time. I knew getting adjusted to living with a roommate was going to be difficult; hell yeah it was difficult. I was in a room that was less than half the size of my room at home and the bed was harder than a slab of concrete. Not to mention my bed was about the height of my chest; therefore I had to run and jump onto my bed. I’ve included a photo of my dorm room. I only took one photo the entire time I lived there because I was literally never in my room. I had a small closet behind where I was standing that had all of my clothes and other useless stuff that I probably didn’t need in it. I also had two curtains that hid my closet and the curtains were hung up by an expandable curtain rod.

10625016_815581958462404_1755500352680294467_n

Monroe Dormitory

As you can see I tried to stay organized. (I’m laughing hysterically because this was the only day I cleaned up my room the entire semester.) I kept two plastic drawer sets under my bed that held all of my microwaveable dishes and silverware, medicine and/or extra toiletries, extra towels, etc. I also eventually bought a step stool to get up into bed because I was ending up with some gnarly bruises on my shins after a while. The bathroom was down the hall and I shared it with 38 other girls and oh my god, girls can be disgusting.

To say the least, living in the traditional freshman dorm lasted a whopping one semester before I said “I’M DONE.” I ended up living in an old hotel that RMU bought a couple years ago on Sherriff’s sale. I lived on the 2nd floor and had a view of a brick wall; It was horrible. But on the bright side, I had a full size bed and my own bathroom. My second semester I was left friendless because my two best friends had transferred.

I spent half of the second semester pretty much alone with only one friend left that was a guy and he is also one of my best friends. I spent most days alone and ate alone most of the time. To say the least I was probably a little depressed, but not too badly depressed.

I got closer with my new roommate but when she left I became friends with her best friends. The friendship wasn’t real and I found that out really quickly when I lived with them the beginning of my sophomore year. That’s a story for another day though.

Enough about roommates, what I actually have been doing is a different story. For the first eight weeks of my sophomore year I was hired as a first year student program freshman mentor (FYSP) for the freshman class of 2019. I met a bunch of amazing people that I am so lucky to be best friends with. I feel like at this point I have made real friends. Let the photo montage roll…

IMG_4150

IMG_4239

y99rn

I would like to consider some of these people may best friends now and I hope they consider me as one of their best friends too. Freshman orientation weekend was beyond rough. Between moving hundreds of freshmen in to attending every event that was scheduled. The day started at 8am and ended at midnight and repeated for four days. To be honest, I wouldn’t trade those four days for anything.

The rest of my semester consisted of trying to survive and get through some of the most annoying and difficult classes thus far. I learned very quickly that I did not want to be a Journalist ever, just based on one class that I took. I also learned very quickly that I loved advertising and that I wanted to change my concentration to advertising rather than Public Relations. I had my concentration as Public Relations since I got to RMU and I didn’t like it. I had taken one class in PR but wasn’t really thrilled with it. So I made PR my minor instead.

That pretty much wraps up the basic happenings of my first year and a half at RMU. Of course I left a lot of details out but they are irrelevant to be honest.

 

Stay tuned because in the next week or so I will be posting some college dorm DIY and college dorm crock pot cooking recipes!

 

Leave a Reply

